What You Need To Know About DUIs!
Driving under the influence is a serious matter that could have future consequences on your personal life and the lives of others. Nonetheless, people are human and sometimes humans make mistakes. The professionals at Hampleman Law, LLC understand that mistakes happen and we’re here to guide you through the Illinois DUI process.
First off, a blood alcohol content (BAC) of under .08 is usually legal in the State of Illinois. For most people, this equates to about two or three alcoholic drinks but this can vary depending on body weight or size and also the type of alcohol being consumed. Three shots of Everclear is going to hit a 120 lb female differently than three cans of beer will affect a 250 lb male.
Even with a BAC level of .05% or more you may still be arrested in Illinois for driving under the influence if the arresting officer determines that your ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired due to the fact of alcohol, drugs or an intoxicant including recreational or even medical cannabis.
Depending on the severity of your case, the state has various penalties and consequences associated with a DUI conviction.
Class A misdemeanor – possible imprisonment of up to 1 year; fines of up to $2,500.
Class 4 felony: possible imprisonment of 1-3 years; fines of up to $25,000. Aggravated DUI involving injury has possible imprisonment of 1-12 years with fines up to $25,000.
Class 3 felony: possible imprisonment of 2-5 years; fines of up to $25,000.
Class 2 felony: possible imprisonment of 3- 7 years and fines of up to $25,000. Aggravated DUI with 1 death has possible imprisonment of 3-14 years and fines of up to $25,000. Aggravated DUI with multiple deaths has possible imprisonment of 6-28 years with fines going up to $25,000.
Class 1 felony: potential imprisonment of 4-15 years; fines of up to $25,000.
Class X felony: imprisonment of 6-30 years; fines of up to $25,000.
A DUI conviction results in a revocation of driving privileges:
First conviction results in a minimum one-year revocation.
Second conviction within 20 years results in a minimum five-year revocation.
Third conviction results in a minimum 10-year revocation.
Fourth and subsequent conviction results in a lifetime revocation.
As previously stated, people make mistakes. Sometimes people make the same mistake multiple times, it’s human nature. Rest assured that with the assistance of the team at Hampleman Law, LLC, your case will be handled with the utmost care and respect. We’ll investigate to ensure that law enforcement followed the proper procedures in your case and advocate for the best outcome to your interests. Our office offers a flat fee charge for DUI cases depending on your number of previous convictions and the severity of the charge. Contact our office today for an initial, no-cost consultation.